Over the past few weeks I seen a tweet or two about SOPA, but it was not until last night when news flooded my timeline about these law proposals.  Talks of Wikipedia shutting down for a day made me do some research into how this will affect me.

PROTECT IP / SOPA Breaks The Internet from Fight for the Future on Vimeo.

I love the Internet and most of my time is spent searching, reading and sharing.  I search for news and opportunities.  I read blogs and tweets.  I share articles, videos, pictures and my thoughts on the web.  These laws will affect my use of the Internet and today as cyber space goes on strike, I see how it will affect me.  On Wednesday, I wanted to look at my favorite blogs for entertainment and I could not do it.  Even when I went to the Google search page, I was not greeted with their multi-primary color logo.  I was presented with a black block.  I wanted to blog about SOPA and how proud I was to see people unite against it and I could not because WordPress and Tumblr were on SOPA strike.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/32545640

Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

If SOPA and PIPA were to pass then these websites and eventually Facebook and Twitter would be shut down because of a copyright violation or a piracy infringement that was shared on the website.  Not only will we as individuals be sued, but these companies would be sued and rules would be made to obey the government.  These companies would then have to hire many people to monitor every profile or account to make sure there are no violations.  This would even affect the way we use search engines like Google and companies who are spending money on AdSense would be affected.

 I do not like the government regulating this aspect of my life. I do understand that it is unfair to the entertainment industry and they deserve to be paid for their artistry but to affect the way we use the Internet is unfair too.  There has to be a plan and a way to compromise.

 As of Thursday the SOPA and PIPA bills are off the table and the FBI decided to shutdown one website called, Mega Upload.  This is definitely an issue that we will have to keep an eye on.

Leave a Reply

