I went to Philadelphia for the very first time last weekend.  My cousin Jessica showed me a great time.  I listened to a jazz band at a soul food spot called Warm Daddy’s with Breah, I ate a Philly Cheesesteak from Jim’s Steaks, I gazed upon the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall where the Declaration of Independence was signed and I got to cheer on Afro-Blue at my cousin-in-law’s Kappa fundraiser.  However, no trip can be complete without visiting a cupcakery.

Breah suggested Philly Cupcake and after scanning the website, I knew I had to add it to my to-do-list. I find the bakery to be cute, antique and girly.  All of the cupcakes were displayed in pink 1970’s Victoria Secret cases.  What I loved about Philly Cupcake is that it had at least 20 flavors to choose from unlike most cupcakeries that may only serve the basic flavors or no more than ten flavors.  What I did not like is that they did not take debit cards and that I felt rushed when trying to decide what I wanted to purchase.

After scanning the options, I decided to try the Banana Rama and Strawberry Lemonade cupcake.  I picked out a Carrot and a Vanilla Bean cupcake for my cousins.  The cupcakes are expensive compared to other places.  The Strawberry Lemonade, Carrot and Vanilla cupcake were $3.  The Banana Rama is listed as a “Fancy Cupcake” and therefore it cost $4.  The Banana Rama cupcake was my first time having bananas and chocolate together.  The rich banana cake was topped with a fluffy buttercream that had the consistency of whipped cream and dipped in white chocolate.  The Strawberry Lemonade cupcake was lemon cake with a great strawberry buttercream.

The moist cake is complimented with just enough icing. The buttercream was not too thick or overwhelming in taste.  It was quite perfect.  Next time I visit Philly Cupcake, I want to try the Banana Split which is a banana cake with chocolate, vanilla and strawberry buttercream.

Leave a Reply

