Sometimes when I walk outside, I feel like Mary Tyler Moore and the theme song plays in my head.  Other times, I emerge from the subway station and I look up and see the towering skyscrapers and I have to pinch myself, because I can’t believe that I live here.   Every now and then I look south toward the Manhattan skyline and I smile because I am living my dream.

I have been a resident of New York City for a year on today.  I remember the hunger that I had to conquer this place.  I remember the excitement I had to explore and indulge and all the things New York had to offer.   I remember the hope and promise that I would always have an “Empire State of Mind”.  There is a reason why I was lead here.  There is reason why the cards played themselves and I truly believe there is something here that I am supposed to conquer.  I will WIN!

I am so happy to have a support system here.  I am thankful for the new friends that I made and the old friends who came to conquer New York with me.   Thank you all for sticking with me throughout this journey of self-discovery.  I had an amazing first year in New York and I look forward to many more.

Leave a Reply

